Each year MORPC recognizes individuals or projects at the awards ceremony during the State of the Region Luncheon with the Regional Leadership, William C. Habig Collaborative Achievement, and William H. Anderson Excellence in Public Service awards.

First introduced in 1997, the Regional Leadership Award recognizes individuals in a 15-county region (Franklin, Delaware, Fairfield, Fayette, Hocking, Knox, Licking, Logan, Madison, Marion, Morrow, Perry, Pickaway, Ross and Union counties) who make extraordinary efforts to ensure the future viability of the region's communities. The Regional Leadership Award is derived from MORPC's continuing dedication to addressing issues that transcend community boundaries and to stimulating visionary thinking. Past award winners include:

  • 2017 Patrick Losinski
  • 2016 Marilee Chinnici-Zuercher
  • 2015 Michael Coleman
  • 2014 Marjory Pizzuti 
  • 2013 Kenny McDonald
  • 2012 Ron Pizzuti
  • 2011 William Lhota
  • 2010 Val Moeller
  • 2009 Elaine Roberts
  • 2008 Ty Marsh
  • 2007 Mike Long
  • 2006 Bill Habig
  • 2005 Jack Lucks
  • 2004 Debbie Martin
  • 2003 Art Wallace
  • 2002 Don Wuertz
  • 2001 Rich King
  • 1999 (none given)2000 Dave Lieser
  • 1998 Jim Caldwell
  • 1997 Ginny Barney

The William C. Habig Collaborative Achievement Award was created in 2006 in honor of William C. Habig, who served MORPC for 39 years, 34 years as executive director. The William C. Habig Collaborative Achievement award is annually presented to an individual and/or organizations who have achieved an effective effort or innovative collaborative in central Ohio. The honoree(s) will have demonstrated success in developing a specific initiative or entity that supports broad inclusion, diverse thoughts in the process and delivers tangible results addressing key challenges facing the region. Past award winners include:

  • 2017 Smart Columbus
  • 2016 Sustaining Scioto
  • 2015 Yaromir Steiner
  • 2014 Economic Development 411 (ED 411) 
  • 2013 Union County Council of Governments
  • 2012 Capital Crossroads and Discovery Special Improvements Districts
  • 2011 Columbus Region Logistics Council
  • 2010 Central Ohio Trauma System
  • 2009 Central Ohio Public Information Network (COPIN)
  • 2008 Signers of the Central Ohio Green Pact
  • 2007 Mid Ohio Development Exchange (MODE)

The William H. Anderson Award recognizes a current or past board member who exemplifies outstanding leadership, a vision for the community and the region, and commitment to MORPC. William H. Anderson, a longtime MORPC board member, was the epitome of a civic volunteer who is remembered for his zeal with which he championed MORPC'S mission and goals.

  • 2017 Karen Angelou
  • 2016 Richard "Ike" Stage
  • 2015 Martha Grigsby
  • 2014 Eric Phillips
  • 2013 Dean Ringle
  • 2012 Derrick R. Clay
  • 2011 R. Thomas Homan
  • 2010 William (Bill) C. Yaple
  • 2009 Marilyn Brown
  • 2008 Herb Asher
  • 2007 Virginia Barney and Mark Barbash