MORPC Awards Technical Assistance to Four Central Ohio Communities

Sept. 12, 2017

The Mid-Ohio Regional Planning Commission (MORPC) awarded technical assistance to four Central Ohio communities - the cities of Delaware, Westerville, Worthington, and Violet Township.

The insight2050 Technical Assistance Program (TA Program), funded through MORPC’s Federal Surface Transportation Program (STP), provides MORPC staff assistance to local government members within the transportation planning area of Delaware and Franklin counties, Bloom and Violet townships in Fairfield County, New Albany, Pataskala and Etna Township in Licking County, and Jerome Township in Union County.

Through the TA Program, staff will assist member communities with specific planning services related to the findings of insight2050 and goals of the Metropolitan Transportation Plan.

“The insight2050 analysis shows how a focused approach to growth benefits Central Ohio residents, their local governments, and the environment through context-sensitive infill and redevelopment opportunities and expanded transportation options,” said Kerstin Carr, MORPC’s Director of Planning & Environment. “With the TA Program, MORPC will provide staff assistance to its member communities as they develop plans and policies that allow them to achieve more of those benefits, including a reduction in vehicle miles traveled and enhanced economic competitiveness.”

The four projects that received the award through a competitive application process include:

  • City of Delaware: Comprehensive Complete Streets Policy
  • City of Westerville: Brooksedge Office Park Redevelopment Plan
  • City of Worthington: Formal Complete Streets Policy
  • Violet Township: Refugee Road/Pickerington Road Corridor Master Plan

For more information on the insight2050 TA Program, please visit