MORPC Amends 2018-2021 Transportation Improvement Program

    May 6, 2019
    Comments due May 24 on changes to Section 5307 Program of Projects

    The Mid-Ohio Regional Planning Commission (MORPC) is amending the State Fiscal Year 2018-2021 Transportation Improvement Program (TIP) to include changes to Federal Transit Administration’s (FTA’s) Section 5307 Program of Projects.

    FTA’s Program of Projects is a list of projects proposed by transit agencies or other recipients for Section 5307 funding.  Allocations for Central Ohio Transit Authority (COTA) and Delaware Area Transit Agency (DATA) must be included in the TIP due to operating entirely within the MORPC transportation planning area, including: Delaware and Franklin counties; Bloom and Violet townships in Fairfield County; New Albany, Pataskala and Etna Township in Licking County; and Jerome Township in Union County.

    The Section 5307 funding for the following project has changed. These changes will be reflected on the June 2019 TIP amendment.


    Project TIP ID ODOT PID Change
    COTA Fields CNG Rehabilitation 2786 95037 Reduce 5307 funding from $18 million to $12,895,000 in the construction phase. Funding added from other sources (Section 5339 and local transit funds).


    “Through this project, COTA is using a combination of funding to advance transit technology at the Fields Avenue Facility,” states Ronni Nimps, MORPC Associate Engineer. “Using compressed natural gas (CNG) affects everyone in Central Ohio by improving air quality.”

    To view the complete list of Section 5307 Program of Projects on MORPC’s 2018-2021 TIP, visit

    Comments on the proposed changes can be submitted by email to or in writing to MORPC, 111 Liberty Street, Suite 100, Columbus, Ohio 43215, Attn: Thea Walsh, by 5 p.m., Friday, May 24, 2019.

    Sign up to receive our News & Events
    Which MORPC newsletters would you like to receive?