State Of The Region

    The State of the Region is one of Central Ohio’s most significant events of the year. During the State of the Region, we highlight community accomplishments and showcase upcoming plans for leading our region into the future. It is attended by the region’s top political, business, and civic leaders at this year’s premier event.

    If you missed the 2021 State of the Region, you can read about MORPC’s current work in the 2021 State of the Region Business First Insert or watch the following videos of the program:


    Check back for more information on the 2022 State of the Region, as it becomes available.

    State Of The Region Awards

    William H. Anderson Award

    The William H. Anderson Award recognizes a current or past board member who exemplifies outstanding leadership, a vision for the community and the region, and commitment to MORPC. William H. Anderson, a longtime MORPC board member, was the epitome of a civic volunteer who is remembered for his zeal with which he championed MORPC’S mission and goals.

    • 2021 Kim Maggard
    • 2020 (none given)
    • 2019 Steve Stolte
    • 2018 James R. Schimmer
    • 2017 Karen Angelou
    • 2016 Richard “Ike” Stage
    • 2015 Marsha Grigsby
    • 2014 Eric Phillips
    • 2013 Dean Ringle
    • 2012 Derrick R. Clay
    • 2011 R. Thomas Homan
    • 2010 William (Bill) C. Yaple
    • 2009 Marilyn Brown
    • 2008 Herb Asher
    • 2007 Virginia Barney and Mark Barbash
    Regional Leadership Award

    First introduced in 1997, the Regional Leadership Award recognizes individuals in a 15-county region (Franklin, Delaware, Fairfield, Fayette, Hocking, Knox, Licking, Logan, Madison, Marion, Morrow, Perry, Pickaway, Ross and Union counties) who make extraordinary efforts to ensure the future viability of the region’s communities. The Regional Leadership Award is derived from MORPC’s continuing dedication to addressing issues that transcend community boundaries and to stimulating visionary thinking. Past award winners include:

    • 2021 Trudy Bartley
    • 2020 (none given)
    • 2019 Jean Carter Ryan
    • 2018 Curtis Stitt
    • 2017 Patrick Losinski
    • 2016 Marilee Chinnici-Zuercher
    • 2015 Michael Coleman
    • 2014 Marjory Pizzuti
    • 2013 Kenny McDonald
    • 2012 Ron Pizzuti
    • 2011 William Lhota
    • 2010 Val Moeller
    • 2009 Elaine Roberts
    • 2008 Ty Marsh
    • 2007 Mike Long
    • 2006 Bill Habig
    • 2005 Jack Lucks
    • 2004 Debbie Martin
    • 2003 Art Wallace
    • 2002 Don Wuertz
    • 2001 Rich King
    • 2000 Dave Lieser
    • 1999 (none given)
    • 1998 Jim Caldwell
    • 1997 Ginny Barney
    William C. Habig Collaborative Achievement Award

    The William C. Habig Collaborative Achievement Award was created in 2006 in honor of William C. Habig, who served MORPC for 39 years, 34 years as executive director. The William C. Habig Collaborative Achievement award is annually presented to an individual and/or organizations who have achieved an effective effort or innovative collaborative in central Ohio. The honoree(s) will have demonstrated success in developing a specific initiative or entity that supports broad inclusion, diverse thoughts in the process and delivers tangible results addressing key challenges facing the region. Past award winners include:

    • 2021 Central Ohio’s Public Health Districts
    • 2020 (none given)
    • 2019 MECC Regional Council of Governments
    • 2018 Delaware Community YMCA/Ohio Army National Guard Readiness Center
    • 2017 Smart Columbus
    • 2016 Sustaining Scioto
    • 2015 Yaromir Steiner
    • 2014 Economic Development 411 (ED 411)
    • 2013 Union County Council of Governments
    • 2012 Capital Crossroads and Discovery Special Improvements Districts
    • 2011 Columbus Region Logistics Council
    • 2010 Central Ohio Trauma System
    • 2009 Central Ohio Public Information Network (COPIN)
    • 2008 Signers of the Central Ohio Green Pact
    • 2007 Mid Ohio Development Exchange (MODE)

    If your organization is interested in being a sponsor for the State of the Region luncheon, please contact Amanda McEldowney at 614.233.4112.

    Sign up to receive our News & Events
    Which MORPC newsletters would you like to receive?