MORPC Welcomes New Board Officers

Erik Janas elected Board Chair

The Mid-Ohio Regional Planning Commission (MORPC) elected its new board officers at the April 14 commission meeting.

Elected for one-year terms, expiring in 2023:

  • Board Chair: Erik Janas, Deputy County Administrator, Franklin County Board of Commissioners
  • Vice-Chair: Chris Amorose Groomes, Council Member, City of Dublin
  • Secretary: Michelle Crandall, City Manager, City of Hilliard

“We are thrilled to have our new MORPC board officers in place. Their vast experience in local government, leadership talents, and passion for advancing prosperity will help lead and rally MORPC to even greater impact for communities across Central Ohio.”

Succeeding City of Gahanna Council Member Karen Angelou as Board Chair, Janas is a dedicated public servant with 25 years of experience in local government. He previously served on the MORPC board in other leadership positions, most recently as Vice Chair.

The MORPC board meets ten times per year to discuss important regional issues, guide the direction of MORPC’s work, network with local leaders to discuss common problems, create solutions to shared regional challenges, and provide input on funding decisions.

“It is an honor to be chosen by my colleagues throughout the region to lead MORPC. With LinkUS, passenger rail, Rapid5, and the need for smart planning around Intel all before us, MORPC’s role is more important than ever to Central Ohio’s success – now, let’s get to work.”


In his position as Deputy County Administrator, Janas directly supervises the departments of Economic Development and Planning, Sanitary Engineering, and Animal Care and Control. He also directs government affairs activities for the Board of Commissioners at the federal, state, regional, and municipal levels, with a primary focus on leveraging relationships, implementing policy changes, and maximizing resources for Franklin County initiatives.

In addition to the MORPC board, Janas is involved in many other boards, commissions, and committees in the region, including the Franklin County Convention Facilities Authority; the Columbus Regional Airport Authority; the Community Shelter Board; the Workforce Development Board of Central Ohio; Celebrate One (as board chair); the Franklin County Transportation Improvement District (as board vice-chair); the Confluence Community Authority; and the Franklin County Emergency Management & Homeland Security Agency.

Janas also works on behalf of the county with business organizations such as the Columbus Chamber of Commerce; Rev 1 Ventures; and the Columbus Partnership. He also served on the transition committee tasked with creating Columbus 2020 (now One Columbus).

Prior to joining Franklin County, Janas was the Regional and Government Affairs Advisor for the Mayor of the City of Columbus. He also served in multiple human service agencies for Cuyahoga County, Ohio, and in the Departments of Development and Finance, and the Mayor’s Office for the City of Cleveland.

Janas holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in economics from the University of Dayton and a Master of Public Administration degree from the Levin College of Urban Affairs at Cleveland State University. He is designated as a Credentialed Manager by the International City/County Management Association (ICMA). Born and raised in Northeast Ohio, he is a current resident of Columbus.

To learn more about the Mid-Ohio Regional Planning Commission, visit

Press Room Information

Media Contacts

Níel Jurist

Sr. Director of Communications & Engagement

Melissa Rapp

Public Information Manager

More News

Sign up to receive our
News & Events

Newsletter Signup
First Name
Last Name