State Of The Region

Join us on Friday, March 15, 2024, at the Hilton Columbus Downtown from 11:00 A.M. – 1:00 P.M.

This year’s theme is Connecting Communities: Building the Future of Housing and Transportation.

The State of the Region is one of Central Ohio’s most significant events of the year. During the State of the Region, we highlight community accomplishments and showcase upcoming plans for leading our region into the future. It is attended by the region’s top political, business, and civic leaders as the year’s premier event.

Sponsorship Opportunities

MORPC’s State of the Region would not be possible without the generous support of organizations and businesses across Central Ohio. With almost 1,000 attendees, the State of the Region is an opportunity for organizations and business across Central Ohio to showcase their support around initiatives taking place throughout the region.

View the sponsorship levels in the Sponsor Brochure.

Please contact Amanda McEldowney at for questions and to secure your sponsorship today. 

State Of The Region Awards

During the State of the Region, we highlight community accomplishments with the State of the Region Awards. Award nominations close on Friday, December 29, 2023. Submit your nominations by clicking on the button below.

The William H. Anderson Award recognizes a current or past board member who exemplifies outstanding leadership, a vision for the community and the region, and commitment to MORPC. William H. Anderson, a longtime MORPC board member, was the epitome of a civic volunteer who is remembered for his zeal with which he championed MORPC’S mission and goals.

Past award winners include:

  • 2023 David Scheffler
  • 2022 Joe Stefanov
  • 2021 Kim Maggard
  • 2020 (none given)
  • 2019 Steve Stolte
  • 2018 James R. Schimmer
  • 2017 Karen Angelou
  • 2016 Richard “Ike” Stage
  • 2015 Marsha Grigsby
  • 2014 Eric Phillips
  • 2013 Dean Ringle
  • 2012 Derrick R. Clay
  • 2011 R. Thomas Homan
  • 2010 William (Bill) C. Yaple
  • 2009 Marilyn Brown
  • 2008 Herb Asher
  • 2007 Virginia Barney and Mark Barbash

First introduced in 1997, the Regional Leadership Award recognizes individuals in a 15-county region (Franklin, Delaware, Fairfield, Fayette, Hocking, Knox, Licking, Logan, Madison, Marion, Morrow, Perry, Pickaway, Ross and Union counties) who make extraordinary efforts to ensure the future viability of the region’s communities. The Regional Leadership Award is derived from MORPC’s continuing dedication to addressing issues that transcend community boundaries and to stimulating visionary thinking.

Past award winners include:

  • 2023 Christie Angel
  • 2022 Jennifer Gallagher
  • 2021 Trudy Bartley
  • 2020 (none given)
  • 2019 Jean Carter Ryan
  • 2018 Curtis Stitt
  • 2017 Patrick Losinski
  • 2016 Marilee Chinnici-Zuercher
  • 2015 Michael Coleman
  • 2014 Marjory Pizzuti
  • 2013 Kenny McDonald
  • 2012 Ron Pizzuti
  • 2011 William Lhota
  • 2010 Val Moeller
  • 2009 Elaine Roberts
  • 2008 Ty Marsh
  • 2007 Mike Long
  • 2006 Bill Habig
  • 2005 Jack Lucks
  • 2004 Debbie Martin
  • 2003 Art Wallace
  • 2002 Don Wuertz
  • 2001 Rich King
  • 2000 Dave Lieser
  • 1999 (none given)
  • 1998 Jim Caldwell
  • 1997 Ginny Barney

The William C. Habig Collaborative Achievement Award was created in 2006 in honor of William C. Habig, who served MORPC for 39 years, 34 years as executive director. The William C. Habig Collaborative Achievement award is annually presented to an individual and/or organizations who have achieved an effective effort or innovative collaborative in central Ohio. The honoree(s) will have demonstrated success in developing a specific initiative or entity that supports broad inclusion, diverse thoughts in the process and delivers tangible results addressing key challenges facing the region.

Past award winners include:

  • 2023 One Columbus
  • 2022 Downtown Bellefontaine Redevelopment & Small Nation
  • 2021 Central Ohio’s Public Health Districts
  • 2020 (none given)
  • 2019 MECC Regional Council of Governments
  • 2018 Delaware Community YMCA/Ohio Army National Guard Readiness Center
  • 2017 Smart Columbus
  • 2016 Sustaining Scioto
  • 2015 Yaromir Steiner
  • 2014 Economic Development 411 (ED 411)
  • 2013 Union County Council of Governments
  • 2012 Capital Crossroads and Discovery Special Improvements Districts
  • 2011 Columbus Region Logistics Council
  • 2010 Central Ohio Trauma System
  • 2009 Central Ohio Public Information Network (COPIN)
  • 2008 Signers of the Central Ohio Green Pact
  • 2007 Mid Ohio Development Exchange (MODE)

Sign up to receive our
News & Events

Newsletter Signup
First Name
Last Name