Summit on Sustainability

The Summit on Sustainability will take place on Thursday, October 26th. This is MORPC’s signature environmental conference, bringing hundreds of community leaders together to explore and share sustainable ideas and solutions, and to celebrate individuals and collaborative sustainability efforts with the Regional Sustainability Awards. The Summit will feature two plenary sessions and breakout sessions that will focus on MORPC’s sustainability programs.

7:30 a.m. – 8:30 a.m. – Registration

8:30 a.m. – 9:50 a.m. – Opening Plenary Session

9:50 a.m. – 10:00 a.m. – Break in Exhibit Hall

10:00 a.m. – 11:15 a.m. – Breakout sessions

  • Empowering Communities for a Sustainable Future: Climate Pollution Reduction Workshop
  • LinkUS: Smart Planning for a Sustainable Future
  • Collaborating on Social Equity to Innovate Change
  • Safeguarding Our Water: Exploring Green Infrastructure for Sustainable Development
  • Transportation Policy and the Environment

11:15 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. – Break in Exhibit Hall

11:30 a.m. – 1:00 p.m. – Lunch Plenary Session

1:00 p.m. – 1:15 p.m. – Break in Exhibit Hall

1:15 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. – Breakout Sessions

  • Breathing Easier Together: Empowering Communities for Cleaner Air
  • Reimagining Sustainable Communities
  • Walk and Ride the Way to Culture Change
  • Unlocking Clean Energy for Central Ohio: Building a Roadmap to Empower Our Future
  • Where Do We Grow From Here?

2:30 p.m. – 2:45 p.m. – Break in Exhibit Hall

2:45 p.m. – 4:00 p.m. – Breakout Sessions

  • Catalyzing Sustainable Communities Through Grassroot Efforts
  • Blueways: Navigating the Balance Between Ecology and Recreation
  • Data the Root of Effective Urban Forestry Planning
  • Transforming Environmental Justice (Justice 40)
  • Join the Circular Economy: Turning Ambition into Action

Morning Plenary Keynote: Todd Brady

Todd Brady is the Chief Sustainability Officer for Intel Corporation, and Vice President of Global Public Affairs. As Chief Sustainability Officer, he leads Intel’s global sustainability initiatives including climate, energy, water, green buildings and circular economy. Currently, Todd’s organization is focused on achieving Intel’s ambitious 2030 sustainability goals and commitment to achieve net zero greenhouse gas emissions in Intel’s global operations by 2040.

Todd’s Public Affairs teams oversee local government affairs, local media, community relations, corporate volunteerism, and sustainability at the company’s major manufacturing and office locations around the globe. These locations include Arizona, California, New Mexico, Ohio, and Oregon in the United States, as well as China, Costa Rica, Germany, India, Israel, Ireland, Malaysia, Mexico, and Vietnam.

During his 25+ year career at Intel, Todd has represented the company in numerous public forums and led industry-wide initiatives in national and international committees. He has authored several papers in scientific journals and conference proceedings on a variety of sustainability topics. He was named by Scientific American as one of ten outstanding leaders involved in research, business or policy pursuits that have advanced science and technology and one of the world’s top 20 sustainability leaders by Sustainability Magazine.


Lunch Plenary Keynote: Mitchell Silver

Mitchell Silver serves as the Principal, Vice President of Urban Planning at McAdams, and he is responsible for providing advisory services in urban planning, land use, parks, and public space planning with an emphasis on diversity, equity, and inclusion. Mitchell also serves as an ambassador and leader for the company in regional and national organizations and events. Mitchell is an award-winning planner with over 38 years of experience. He is a prolific public speaker and internationally recognized for his leadership in the urban planning profession, placemaking, parks and public space planning, and contributions to contemporary planning issues.

Before joining McAdams, Mitchell was the commissioner for the New York City Department of Parks and Recreation, Chief Planning Officer in Raleigh, NC. He served as president of the American Planning Association and president of the American Institute of Certified Planners. Mitchell is one of the nation’s most celebrated urban thinkers. He was among those selected to Planetizen’s 100 Most Influential Urbanists. In addition, he has been honored as one of the top 100 City Innovators in the world by UBM Future Cities, and the Urban Times named him one of the top international thought leaders of the built environment.

MORPC’s Summit on Sustainability would not be possible without the generous support of organizations and businesses across Central Ohio. With almost 600 attendees, the Summit on Sustainability is an opportunity for organizations and business across Central Ohio to showcase their support around sustainability initiatives.

View the sponsorship levels in the Sponsor Brochure.

Please contact Amanda McEldowney at for questions and to secure your sponsorship today. 

The Leadership in Sustainability Award

This award recognizes an individual or entity exemplifying outstanding leadership and innovation in seeking comprehensive sustainability solutions to address key challenges facing the region.

Previous Recipients:

  • 2014: Erin Miller, City of Columbus
  • 2015: Mount Carmel Healthy Systems
  • 2016: Green Columbus, City of Columbus, Green Funds of The Columbus Foundation and Keep Columbus Beautiful
  • 2017: Susan Ashbrook, City of Columbus
  • 2018: Ben Kessler, Mayor of the City of Bexley
  • 2019: Kurt Keljo, Franklin Soil & Water Conservation District
  • 2020: Dr. Gilbert Michaud, Assistant Professor of Practice at the Voinovich School of Leadership and Public Affairs at Ohio University
  • 2021: Jim Schimmer, Franklin County Economic Development and Planning
  • 2022: Ty Marsh, SWACO

The Collaborative Achievement in Sustainability Award

This award recognizes a group of entities or individuals who have shown effectiveness in producing environmental accomplishments through a collaborative effort.

Previous Recipients:

  • 2014: Genoa, Liberty, and Orange Township Board of Trustees
  • 2015: Friends of the Lower Olentangy Watershed (FLOW)
  • 2016: Dale Arnold, Ohio Farm Bureau
  • 2017: The Ohio State University Student Sustainability Council
  • 2018: The Quarry Project, Franklin County Metro Parks
  • 2019: C-Pass (SID, COTA, and MORPC)
  • 2020: Regional Sustainability Dashboard
  • 2021: RAPID 5
  • 2022: Buckeye Lake For Tomorrow & The Buckeye Lake Region Corporation

The Leadership in Mobility Award

In memory of William A. “Bill” Lewis, Jr., former Chief Mobility Engineer of the City of Columbus. This award recognizes an individual, either professional or student, exemplifying outstanding work towards creating a world-class multi-modal transportation system for Central Ohio.

Previous Recipients:

  • 2015: In memory of Bill Lewis, former Chief Mobility Engineer, City of Columbus
  • 2016: JM Rayburn, City of Dublin
  • 2017: Julie Walcoff, ODOT
  • 2018: Letty Schamp, City of Hilliard
  • 2019: Catherine Girves, YAY Bikes
  • 2020: Ted Beidler, Franklin County Engineer’s Office
  • 2021: Brad Westall, City of Columbus
  • 2022: Bertie Fields, Black Girls Do Bike





Sign up to receive our
News & Events

Newsletter Signup
First Name
Last Name