APRIL 16, 2014

MORPC Board members have elected three new officers. Eric Phillips representing Marysville was elected Chair, Matt Greeson, Worthington City Manager was elected Vice Chair and Rory McGuiness, City of Columbus was elected Secretary.

In the role of Chairman, Eric Phillips, Marysville and Union County Economic Development Director, will preside over MORPC board meetings and advise the commission on setting goals and implementing strategic plans. He will also play a key role in MORPC’s efforts to collaborate regionally with members, community leaders and state and federal governments. Phillips, a Board member since 2004, previously served as Vice Chair last term.

As Vice Chair, Greeson will oversee MORPC’s Executive Committee, which reviews and makes recommendations to the board about budget, administrative and public policy issues. The Executive Committee governs the core functions of the commission such as personnel matters, contracts and financial issues. Greeson is a longstanding member of MORPC’s Executive Committee and served as Secretary last term.

MORPC’s newly elected Secretary, McGuiness, is Special Assistant to the Mayor of the City of Columbus. McGuiness, who actively served on several MORPC committees, is also a longstanding member of MORPC’s Executive Committee.

For more information contact Sarah McQuaide