Local Infrastructure Funding from Ohio Public Works

    The Ohio Public Works Commission (OPWC) provides local infrastructure funding through the State Capital Improvements Program (SCIP) and the Local Transportation Improvement Program (LTIP). Local subdivisions, such as counties, municipal corporations, townships, sanitary districts or regional water and sewer districts, are eligible to apply. MORPC provides administrative support for OPWC’s District 3, comprising Franklin County. MORPC annually reviews and scores applications for the district’s Public Works Integrating Committee, which recommends project awards for OPWC approval.

    July 1, 2021 Update: Application materials are now available for projects scheduled to start construction between July 1, 2022 and May 31, 2023.

    As before, there is statewide OPWC application form and additional application materials specific to District 3. However, OPWC is transitioning from a PDF form to the Public WorksWise web portal. Applications to District 3 will be submitted via WorksWise.

    The WorksWise portal is scheduled to open August 4. In the meantime, use the PDF form to prepare your application. You can enter the information into WorksWise after it becomes available. Please go to the Public WorksWise training page to request a login and view training videos.

    MORPC staff is available to assist applicants and answer questions. Please contact Nathaniel Vogt at 614.233.4183 or Thomas Graham at 614.233.4193.

    FY23 application deadline: September 13, 2021, by 5 p.m.

    Schedule for FY23

    District 3 Policies and Procedures: FY23 Applicant Manual

    District 3 Public Works Integrating Committee Members

    John Bryner
    Private Sector Representative

    Karl Craven
    City of Westerville Director of Planning & Development

    Tracie Davies
    City of Columbus Director of Public Utilities

    Jennifer Gallagher
    City of Columbus Director of Public Service
    PWIC Vice Chair

    Joe Martin
    Brown Township Trustee

    Darryl Hughes
    City of Grandview Heights Director of Service

    Cornell Robertson
    Franklin County Engineer
    PWIC Chair

    Nancy White
    Mifflin Township Administrator

    Kenneth Wilson
    Franklin County Administrator

    Other OPWC Districts and Contacts

    For more information, contact Nathaniel Vogt at 614.233.4183.

    Sign up to receive our News & Events
    Which MORPC newsletters would you like to receive?